SDLT Reliefs
(SDLT Classifications, Reliefs and Exemptions)

➤ SDLT relief depends on meeting specific criteria, varies by type and purpose, and may reduce or exempt tax, requiring compliance and accurate documentation.

Eligibility Criteria: Each SDLT relief has specific eligibility criteria that must be met. These criteria can be based on the nature of the property, the identity or status of the buyer, the purpose of the property, or the type of transaction.

Types of Relief: There are various types of SDLT relief, each serving a different purpose. Examples include relief for first-time homebuyers, relief for multiple dwellings, relief for charitable organisations, and relief for certain types of corporate restructuring.

Reduction or Exemption: SDLT relief may result in a reduction of the tax payable or, in some cases, a complete exemption from SDLT.

Application Process: Some reliefs are applied automatically based on the transaction details, while others require a formal claim to be made to HM Revenue and Customs (HMRC).

Compliance and Documentation: To benefit from an SDLT relief, compliance with the specific requirements and provision of necessary documentation to support the claim are essential.

Legislative Framework: SDLT reliefs are governed by UK tax legislation, and the rules and eligibility criteria are subject to change based on legislative amendments.

* indicates required

Intuit Mailchimp

This Article Written By Nick Garner
Founder Stamp Duty Advice Bureau
Author of Stamp Duty Land Tax Guide
For Property Investors.